Ulster University Jordanstown crowned Netball winners

Ulster University 40
Queen’s University Belfast 36

Ulster University Jordanstown were crowned the 2021-22 Student Sport Ireland Netball League champions after a heroic 40-36 win over Queen’s University Belfast in UU Jordanstown on Wednesday December 8th.

After topping the group, the winners went into the final as hot favourites, and they had defeated Queen’s University 5-21 during the group stages however this was a brilliant final with both sides giving everything. At the end of the first quarter Ulster University Jordanstown were 11-9 in front with Georgie McGrath and Olivia McCloskey in fantastic scoring form. By half time the lead was down to a single point with Belle Delicata and Sadie Towell grasping the scoring opportunities for Queens University, with the score 21-20 at the break.

Ulster University Jordanstown were back in front by two points at 31-29 at the end of the third quarter and their defence of Jayne Davies, Rebecca Doyle and Nicole Lowry quashed several chances for Queen’s University. On their home court, Ulster University Jordanstown finished the job and pushed four points clear at the end.

Ulster University captain Bláithín Donnelly received the cup from Student Sport Ireland https://dev.mediahelm.ie/SSI/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/strategic-plan.jpgistrator, Noel Holohan who thanked all the teams who competed in the league, Ulster University Sport for hosting the final, and the umpires, Laura Lovett and Catriona Mills.

Ulster University Jordanstown – Jayne Davies, Rebecca Doyle, Nicolé Lowry, Bláithín Donnelly, Brooke Stewart, Georgie McGrath, Olivia McCloskey, Naoimh Madine, Ellen Davies, Anna Sullivan.

Queen’s University Belfast – Catherine Houston, Jodi McDade, Emma Smyth, Hannah Haycock, Gemma Douglas, Belle Delicata, Sadie Towell, Angel Arutura, Hannah Lenehan, Nicola Brooks, Tamara Buamah.

Umpires – Laura Lovett, Catriona Mills.