TU Dublin crowned SSI/BI All-Ireland Badminton League Champions for 2019-20

TU Dublin 2019-20 Student Sport Ireland / Badminton Ireland League Winners

TU Dublin City Campus made it back to back Student Sport Ireland / Badminton Ireland League titles as they defeated Letterkenny IT 3-0 in the final in Baldoyle recently.

Wins in the round-robin phase on finals day, over TU Dublin Tallaght Campus and IT Tralee saw the TU Dublin City Campus side through to the final, where they were pitted against Letterkenny IT who had qualified for the final after group A victories over IT Carlow and Athlone IT.

The final began with Ben Power (TUD CC) coming through a tough 3 setter against Jack Davies (LYIT) on a 14-21, 21-17, 21-18 score line, and this victory was added to in the Women’s singles as Laura Kinnerk got the better of Leah Darragh (LYIT) 21-15, 21-16. The result was decided in the third match as the TU Dublin City Campus men’s pairing of Mark Gannon and David Barton got past Oscar Lim and Aaron Knox from LYIT 21-19, 21-19. TU Dublin City Campus winning team: Ben Power, Laura Kinnerk, Mark Gannon, David Barton, Niamh Gannon, Ellie Power.

With 11 teams taking part on the day every team was guaranteed at least two games and then a knockout game. The third and fourth place play off saw TU Dublin Tallaght Campus defeat Athlone IT 3-1, fifth place was secured by IT Tralee as they went all the way in a 3-2 win over IT Carlow in the 5th/6th final. The shield competition winners were Trinity College Dublin who achieved success with a 4-1 win over Ulster University.

Student Sport Ireland President Ms. Carmel Lynch presented the cup and medals to the winning teams and complimented all the teams for the standard of badminton on the day and thanked Badminton Ireland for their continued support for the competitions.

Next up for third level badminton is an open singles and mixed doubles which will be run in semester two.

no images were found