Triumphant return to Volleyball for University of Limerick teams

University of Limerick winners of the Men's and Women's Student Sport Ireland / Volleyball Ireland Tier 2 Cups
University of Limerick winners of the Men's and Women's Student Sport Ireland / Volleyball Ireland Tier 2 Cups

In their first year back in Student Sport Ireland / Volleyball Ireland competitions in recent years, University of Limerick collected both the men’s and women’s Tier 2 Cup titles on March 21st in Maynooth University.

In the opening final of the day University of Limerick were a set down after University College Cork powered to a 25-18 victory in the opening set. However the Cork side who travelled with a very small squad of just six players, were hindered by an injury to one of their players.

University of Limerick began to grow in confidence and took the second set 25-11. With a full squad to swap players in and out during the match the Limerick team took control of thing during the third set with a 25-18 win. With the wind in their sails now University of Limerick closed out the match with a fourth set 25-13 win.

University of Limerick – Caitríona Ní Ríordáin, Aoife Duggan, Eimear Ní Choileáin, Gemma Brady, Sophie Nolan, Emma Lawler, Nora Sheehan, Julianna Bibik, Laura Naesland, Elina Guyonnet, Paulina Illek.

University College Cork – Asia Anita Rostin, Federica Iodi, Paula Cardo, Giulia Russo, Alix Nivoix, Nanxin Zheng.

Immediately after the women’s final the men of University of Limerick and University College Dublin took to the court for the Tier 2 Cup final. University of Limerick got out of the blocks quicker in the opening set and were one up after a 25-19 win. University College Dublin were not on the back foot for long as they won a pulsating second set on a 27-25 score to level the game.

University of Limerick cut loose in the third set and blitzed UCD 25-6. With the victory line in sight now for University of Limerick they pushed for home in the fourth set and took the honours with a 25-19 win.

That victory capped a memorable day for University of Limerick who headed back Shannonside with both Student Sport Ireland / Volleyball Ireland Tier 2 Cup on board the bus.

University of Limerick – Leo Callery, Mark Kocketkov, Conor Murphy, Scott Bullman, Simon Hees, Grégoire Rouch, Thomas Comerford, Gareth Gilmatin, Cillian O’Riordáin, Lorcan Cummins, Symeon Kasmeridis

University College Dublin – Moeyoncsteven Lin, Dylan Anderson, Vojtéch Oboril, Stephen Bowes, Xinyi Wan, Nabeel Olasekan, Ameer Bohel, Lun Seng Lee, Sei Mompudi, Karst Deddan, Kieran Prendergast, Thabeng Rapinyaun