Trinity College Dublin take home Men’s Volleyball League Trophy

On Wednesday 23 November, Trinity College Dublin won the Student Sport Ireland/Volleyball Ireland Men’s league title following victory against University of Galway in the final at Maynooth University.

In the opening semi-final of the day, it was a Dublin derby where Trinity College Dublin met Dublin City University in a competitive match. The men from Trinity advanced to the final after winning two sets without reply – 25-14, 25-23.

The second semi-final ended with a victory for University of Galway, advancing with a 25-20, 25-19 win against Dundalk IT.

In a highly anticipated final, it was Trinity College Dublin who came out on top. Trinity powered to a first set lead winning comfortably, 25-15. However, in the second set, University of Galway really took the game to Trinity, with the team from Dublin coming out the eventual winners 25-23.

Both sides will be among the teams who will compete in the SSI/Volleyball Ireland Cup competition which will take place in Semester 2.

Trinity College Dublin – Alexandre Assi, Anton Tiscovschi, Liam Corcoran, Mark Ogden, Steven Cataluna, Evan Downey, Martin Gutierrez, Joshua Tsu, Chun Hei Lee, Reed Gilmore, Guillaume Monnier, Will Andrews

University of Galway – Peter McGlynn, Jeremiah Obiekwe, Konrad Kizielewicz, Shayan Din, Mohammed Almosa, Jakub Grol, Sean Carmody, Raj Lee Chettiar, Andrew Everitt, Colm Lonergan