Tier 2 Success for University of Galway Women

University of Galway, Student Sport Ireland / IRFU Tier 2 Cup Champions 2024

University of Galway 36
University College Cork 22

University of Galway were crowned Student Sport Ireland / Irish Rugby Football Union Tier 2 Cup champions on Wednesday March 20th, in SETU Carlow Sport Campus, as they avenged defeat twelve months ago against University College Cork.

A tight opening half saw only the winners strike first as Jane Neill found a gap through the middle to touchdown for the game’s first try and it was converted by scrum half Charlotte Miller. University College Cork settled into the game and were rewarded with their first try as Caitlin McEvoy crossed over 23 minutes in. The final act of the opening half saw Charlotte Miller score a second try for University of Galway, as the westerners led 12-5 at the break.

On the resumption the winners really turned the screw scoring 3 tries without reply as Zorya Surguet, Caoimhe Geraghty and Aisling Hahessy put them into a 29-5 lead. Theresa O’Sullivan replied with a five pointer for UCC.

University of Galway would add one more try in the fourth quarter with Jane Neill getting her second of the game, with Charlotte Miller adding her 3rd conversion also. University College Cork fought right until the end and added a further two tries, as Beth Hayes and Theresa O’Sullivan crossed the whitewash.

University of Galway – Jasmine Morgan, Molly Ager, Ruth Whittle, Aisling Hahessy, Jane Neill, Rosie Searle, Becky Nee, Alana Roche, Charlotte Miller, Caoimhe Geraghty, Rachel Kinneavey, Rebecca Farrell, Zorya Surguet, Natasha Darcy, Alice Mulhall, Milena Malaquais, Jackie Houlihan, Clodagh O’Sullivan, Julie Phelan, Caoimhe Laffey, Aisling O’Mornain, Rochelle Connelly, Clodagh O’Sullivan.

University College Cork – Meabh Desmond, Caoimhe Coughlan, Eileen Gleeson, Jennifer Murphy, Sara Akinrinbola, Anna Perryman, Beth Hayes, Kira Fitzgerald, Theresa O’Sullivan, Kate Scully, Leticia Whelan Thomas, Brighid Twohig, Caitlin McEvoy, Laurene Motte, Alison Kelly, Ellie McCarthy, Fiona Tambosso, Shea Highfill, Miriam Murphy, Mara Bittmann