SSI/IRFU Tier 2 Cup Success on Home Soil for University of Limerick

University of Limerick SSI/IRFU Men’s Rugby Tier 2 Cup Champions

University of Limerick 23
Galway Mayo IT 10
University of Limerick claimed the 2019 Student Sport Ireland / IRFU Men’s Rugby Tier 2 Cup title on home soil in Limerick on Wednesday afternoon last as they saw off Galway Mayo IT after a fantastic game of rugby.
The first half was a very tight affair with all the rugby being played between both 22’s before the Galway Mayo IT line was finally breached just before the break as Owen O’Donnell touched down. When Frank Hopkins converted University of Limerick took a 7-0 lead to the break.
Dylan Hamill got GMIT on the score board early in the second half with a penalty, but that was soon cancelled out by a three-point dead ball kick from Frank Hopkins from University of Limerick.
The sides were level midway through the second half as Gordon Shannon scored a superb try for GMIT and Dylan Hamill converted to tie the sides at ten points each.
University of Limerick would finish the game stronger and a try from Ciaran O’Coilean and a conversion and two penalties from the boot of Franks Hopkins saw University of Limerick take the title.
University of Limerick – Owen O’Donnell, Toby Falconer, John Walsh, Kevin Kinane, Giorgi Dolidze, James Maxwell, Oisin Lyons, Evan Fenton (Captain), John Tobin, Frank Hopkins, Pierre Alexandre Lutgen, James Liew, Shea Boggan, Nathan Tibs, Ciaran O’Coilean, Andrew Mythen, Jack Ryan, Robert Maleady, Peter Hickey, Lorcan Hayes, Ben O’Neill, Alix Ladoux, Sean Hennessy, Dylan Mason, Lorenzo Ichourirhere, Danny O’Malley, Cian Dully, Michael O’Se, Sean Higgins, Zurab Oshkhneli.
Galway Mayo IT – Conor Cleary, Thomas Power, Abraham Afolabi, Danny Griffin, Cathal Roddy, Andrew Patton (Captain), Luke Sweeney, Gordon Shannon, Tobias Batterha, Dylan Hammill, Conor McHale, Ronan Molloy, Chris McCormack, Conor Porter, Joshua Graham, Jack Haugh, Fionn Heffernan, Adam Kennedy, Ciaran Flanagan, Jack Hurley, Andrew Kenny, Colm McGuinness, Dan Keane, Nathan Fahy, Diego Hernandez, Gavin Kelly, Aaron Griffin.

Captain Evan Fenton (UL) makes sure the ball comes back on the right side.