SSI/IRFU Third Level Rugby Cup Draws

SSI/IRFU Rugby Cup Launch Aviva Stadium 2020
Student Sport Ireland Irish Rugby Football Union Rugby Cups Launch, Aviva Stadium, Dublin (back row L-R) Garda College’s Cormac Ryan, DCU’s Oisin McCormack, IT Carlow’s Aiden McDonald, TUD’s Martin Murphy, AIT’s Alex Porter, LIT’s Alan Fitzgerald, Queens’ Andy Walker, GMIT’s Andrew Paton and UUL’s Tonall Boomer (Middle row L-R) DCU’s Emma Lacky, IT Carlow’s Katie Ann O’Neill, UCD’s Alix Cuneen, UL’s Meabh Lewis and NUI Galway’s Ella Sinnott (front row L-R) Chairperson IRFU Third Level Rugby Committee Kevin Dineen, Chairperson of SSI Carmel Lynch and SSI Hon. Member Brendan Johnston Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

The launch and draw for the Men’s and Women’s colleges’ senior rugby cup competitions were held this afternoon at the Aviva stadium.

Thirty college rugby teams will participate in five cup competitions coordinated by the IRFU and Student Sport Ireland, the governing body for third level sport on the island of Ireland.

Guest of honour at the event was Mr. Brendan Johnston after whom the Senior Cup Competition is named. During his thirty five years as Sports Officer and lecturer at Dundalk Institute of Technology Mr. Johnston was an advocate for third level sport with a passion for rugby, serving as Hon. Secretary to the Irish Colleges Rugby Union for many years.

Players, coaches and representatives of third level colleges attended the launch which was addressed by Ms. Carmel Lynch, Student Sport Ireland President and Mr. Kevin Dineen, Chairman to the IRFU’s Third level Rugby Committee.

Ms. Lynch said “On behalf of Student Sport Ireland I am proud and delighted to attend today’s event to launch the fifth year of colleges’ rugby cup competitions. We are delighted to collaborate with the IRFU once again for the fifth year of our rugby cup competitions”. Ms Lynch thanked Eoin Hogan (IRFU Age Grade and Student Manager) and Mr. Kevin Dineen (IRFU Third Level Rugby Committee Chairman) for their work, and Ms. Lynch also announced University of Limerick as the hosts once again for this year’s finals on Wednesday March 18th.

In his address Mr. Dineen complemented both the IRFU and Student Sport Ireland on the progress that has been made since 2011 specifically acknowledging the work being undertaken within colleges by volunteer coaches and sports staff in the development of third level rugby.

The draw for Brendan Johnston Cup, Men’s Tier 2 and Tier 3 cups, Women’s Tier 1 and Tier 2 Cup can been found at the links below. Action gets underway on January 29th and will culminate in University of Limerick on March 18th.

Brendan Johnston Cup Draw
Women’s Rugby Tier 1 Cup Draw
Men’s Rugby Tier 2/3 Cup Draw
Women’s Rugby Tier 2 Cup Draw