Mixed Hockey League success for TU Dublin

Technological University of Dublin captured the inaugural Student Sport Ireland Mixed Hockey league title on Wednesday afternoon last, as they had a convincing 8-4 victory over Ulster University on the hockey pitch in the Sport Ireland Campus in Blanchardstown.

The competition which began with 8 teams in two round robin groups of four ran from early November with the Dublin and Belfast based sides qualifying for the final. It was a final that TU Dublin gained control of in the opening quarter as they hit four goals in the opening 15 minute period. By half time the advantage had doubled to 6-0 for the winners.

Credit to Ulster University as they began the second half with great enthusiasm and got two early goals to cut the deficit to 6-2. Both teams would score two further goals before the end of a very exciting and open game, as TU Dublin began the first name to be inscribed onto the Student Sport Ireland Mixed Hockey league cup, as Noel Holohan (Student Sport Ireland, https://dev.mediahelm.ie/SSI/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/strategic-plan.jpgistrator), presented the silverware to winning captain Richard O’Connor.

Technological University of Dublin – Ross Clarke (GK), David Speck (GK), Richard O’Connor (C), Traoloch Butler, Harry McCarthy, William Durnham, Ruari Nulty, Henry Huston, Sam Staunton, Daithi Medcalfe, Abigail Walsh, Anni Seyfried, Pia Simmons, Aisling Hennelly, Niamh Logue, Aimee Woolley, Anna Leary, Leah O’Hagen.

Ulster University – Carden Maloney, Rae Branagh, Thomas Watt, James Warwick, Surya Pavan, Teja Tummala, Louise Hogg, Jenna Ballentine, Sarah Cameron, Christian Fee, Rebecca Duke, Joshua Lavery, Kyna Ku, Matthew Gilmore, Robbie Sinclair.