Launch of Inaugural Colleges’ Rugby Cup Competitions.

The launch of the inaugural Student Sport Ireland IRFU third level colleges’ senior rugby cup competitions was held this afternoon at the Aviva stadium.

Thirty two college rugby teams will participate in three cup competitions coordinated by the IRFU and Student Sport Ireland, the governing body for third level sport on the island of Ireland.

Guest of honour at the event was Mr. Brendan Johnston after whom the Senior Cup Competition is named. During his thirty five years as Sports Officer and lecturer at Dundalk Institute of Technology Mr. Johnston was an advocate for third level sport with a passion for rugby, serving as Hon. Secretary to the Irish Colleges Rugby Union for many years.

Players, coaches and representatives of third level colleges attended the launch which was addressed by Ms. Carmel Lynch, Student Sport Ireland Hon. Chairperson and Mr. Nicholas Comyn, Chairman to the IRFU’s Third level Rugby Committee.

Ms. Lynch said “On behalf of Student Sport Ireland I am proud and delighted to attend today’s event to launch the inaugural colleges’ rugby cup competitions.  In 2011 Student Sport Ireland and the IRFU came together to administer men’s and women’s rugby at third level. Five years on and a total of 59 teams participate in the men’s and women’s leagues. Today we take another positive step forward in the development of colleges’ rugby with the launch of three new cup competitions”.

In his address Mr. Comyn complemented both the IRFU and Student Sport Ireland on the progress that has been made since 2011 specifically acknowledging the work being undertaken within colleges by volunteer coaches and sports staff in the development of third level rugby.

The draw for Brendan Johnston Cup, Tier 2 and Tier 3 cups are as follows. Tier 3 games will be played on the 24th February with the Brendan Johnston Cup and Tier 2 Cup competitions kicking off on the 2nd March. Venues will be confirmed in the coming weeks with Maynooth University hosing the finals of all three competitions on the 16th March at Maynooth University Barnhall RFC.

Brendan Johnston Cup Draw 

Game 1: Limerick IT v Ulster University
Game 2: IT Carlow v Garda College
Game 3: Dublin City University v Mary Immaculate College
Game 4: Athlone IT v Dublin IT

Semi – Final Line Up:

Game 5: Winner of Game 1 hosts Winner of Game 2
Game 6: Winner of Game 3 hosts Winner of Game 4


Tier Two Cup Draw 

Game 1: IT Carlow ‘B’ v Waterford IT
Game 2: Queens University Belfast v University of Limerick
Game 3: IT Tallaght v NUI Galway
Game 4: Cork IT v Belfast Met

 Semi – Final Line Up:

Game 5: Winner of Game 1 hosts Winner of Game 2
Game 6: Winner of Game 3 hosts Winner of Game 4


Tier Three Cup 

Game 1: Athlone IT ‘B’ v IT Blanchardstown
Game 2: Ulster University Jordanstown v University College Cork
Game 3: Dublin Business School v Maynooth University
Game 4: Ulster University Coleraine v Galway Mayo IT
Game 5: Ulster University Magee v IT Carlow ‘C’
Game 6: Dundalk IT v Letterkenny IT
Game 7: IT Tralee v Griffith College
Game 8: Dublin City University ‘B’ v IT Sligo

Quarter – Final Line Up Semi – Final Line Up:

Game 9: Winner of Game 1 hosts Winner of Game 2
Game 10: Winner of Game 3 hosts Winner of Game 4
Game 11: Winner of Game 5 hosts Winner of Game 6
Game 12: Winner of Game 7 hosts Winner of Game 8