IT Carlow pot their way to SSI Pool League Title.

Student Sport Ireland Pool League Champions 2019-20 IT Carlow
Student Sport Ireland Pool League Champions 2019-20 IT Carlow

IT Carlow won back the Student Sport Ireland Pool League title they relinquished in 2018-19 with a powerful 11-1 win over National College of Ireland ‘A’ in the final on March 5th in D15 Cue Academy, in Dublin.

The format for the day saw the best six teams from the groups stages come together. The two quarter finals at the start of the day saw IT Carlow defeat Athlone IT 11-3 and National College of Ireland ‘A’ get the better of TU Dublin City Campus 13-7.

IT Carlow were given a tough challenge by Trinity College Dublin in the semi-final but eventually progressed 11-6, while there was a novel pairing of National College of Ireland ‘A’ up against their college mates National College of Ireland ‘B’ in the second semi-final. It was the ‘A’ Team who progressed to the final winning 11-3.

IT Carlow took control of the final early doors Wayne Brennan defeated Fawaz Alqalfas, Adam Maher beat Ross Hanney, Jeff Ratledge defeated Jim Maguire and Robbie Elliot defeated Connor O’Brien, with NCI’s only win in the first session coming from Sahil Khanna as he got the better of Morgan Thomas.

IT Carlow were unplayable from that point on they won the next seven frames without reply to wrap up an 11-1 victory.

National College of Ireland ‘B’ took 3rd place with victory over Trinity College Dublin 11-8 in the 3rd/4tf place play off, mean while the 5th/6th place play off saw Athlone IT win a gripping game 11-9 over TU Dublin City Campus.

IT Carlow Winning Team – Wayne Brennan, Adam Maher, Jeff Ratledge (Captain), Robbie Elliot and Morgan Thomas.