Ireland 2 Chinese Taipei 1 (Men’s Football Pool A, Round 3)


Ireland Men's Football team at 2017 World University Games.
Ireland Men’s Football team at 2017 World University Games.

Men’s Football Pool A Round 3
Ireland 2
Chinese Taipei 1

Ireland finished off their Pool A in the Men’s Football competition at the World University games with a dramatic 2-1 win over home side Chinese Taipei on Wednesday in a packed Fu Jen Catholic University Stadium.

However the joyous scenes of the late winner scored by Joe Doyle would ultimately be all in vain as an 82nd minute equaliser for France against Mexico in the other game in the group would see the French grab second spot in a very tight group.

Ireland went in search of an early goal to silence the home crowd but found Shuo Che Tsai in inspired form in the home goal as he pulled off some early saves, before Ireland were rocked when Hao Wei Chen was brought down in the box for a penalty, that was coolly slotted home by Chien Hsun Lin, much to the joy of a big home support.

Trailing at the interval and with word coming through that Mexico were leading France, Ireland came out re-energised and bombarded the Chinese Taipei goal and eventually Alan O’Sullivan found the net on the 72nd minute.

The home side were reduced to ten players moments later as Chih Hsuan Lai was shown a red card. Ireland literally threw everything they had at the goal and two minutes into injury time Gary Kineen crossed and Dublin IT student Joe Doyle rose highest to fire Ireland in front to wild scenes of celebration.

Ireland can holds their heads high with a performance of true grit and skill and now face into the classification stage of the competition and will meet South Africa on Thursday morning at 9am Irish time.

Ireland – Ian Molloy (IT Blanchardstown), Eoghan Dempsey (IT Carlow), Ross Taheny (Dublin City University), Sean Mcloughlin (University College Cork), David Brookes (Athlone IT), John McKeown (Maynooth University), Gregory Sloggett (University College Dublin), Shane Daly-Butz (University College Cork), Daire O’Connor (University College Dublin), Jason McClelland (University College Dublin), Alan O’Sullivan (Dublin City University) Subs Shane Dunne (IT Carlow) for McKeown, Gary Kineen (NUI Galway), Joe Doyle (Dublin IT) for Daly-Butz.