Ireland 0 France 0 (Men’s Football Round 1)

Ireland and France line up before kick off in Pool A of Men's Football
Ireland and France line up before kick off in Pool A of Men’s Football

World University Games 2017
Men’s Football Pool A Round 1 Result
Ireland 0
France 0

Ireland and France played out an exciting draw to open Pool A of the World University Games Men’s Football competition in New Taipei City Xinzhuang Stadium on Friday evening.

In what were very difficult conditions in terms of heat and humidity both sides cancelled each other out with good defending and slick passing, however finding the back of the net eluded both sides as both keepers were rock solid.

France began well and tested Ian Molloy twice with the IT Blanchardstown keeper pulling off a world class save to deny the French from taking the lead on the 15th minute. Ireland’s best chance in the opening half came from a set piece with Sean McLoughlin’s direct free kick on the 38th minute being well saved by Cognard in the France goal.

The physicality in the game was very intense and both sides tired midway through the second half as Ireland used their four subs effectively to keep fresh legs on the field. France did create one more golden opportunity but Ian Molloy stood tall in his goal and ensured the game finished scoreless.

Ireland and France sit joint second in Pool A with Mexico taking the advantage after the opening round with a 3-0 win over Chinese Taipei. Ireland will play Mexico on Monday August 21st at 12.30pm.

Ireland: Ian Molloy (IT Blanchardstown), Gary Kineen (NUI Galway), Eoghan Dempsey (IT Carlow), Sean McLoughlin (University College Cork), Shane Dunne (IT Carlow), Shane Daly Butz (University College Cork), Jamie Hollywood (IT Blanchardstown), Daire O’Connor (University College Dublin), Jason McClelland (University College Dublin), Ross Taheny (Dublin City University), Alan O’Sullivan (Dublin City University). Subs Maurice Nugent (NUI Galway) for Dempsey, John McKeown (Maynooth University) for Hollywood, Joe Doyle (Dublin IT)for Daly Butz, Conor Barry (NUI Galway) for McClelland also Conor Kearns (University College Dublin), David Brookes (Athlone IT), Jason Lyons (Athlone IT), Ben McAuliffe (University College Cork).