Ireland 0 Canada 1 (Women’s Football Round 2)

Amanda Budden save bravely against Canada in Ireland 1-0 loss to the Maple Leaf Country.
Amanda Budden save bravely against Canada in Ireland 1-0 loss to the Maple Leaf Country.

World University Games 2017
Women’s Football Pool B Round 2 Result
Ireland 0
Canada 1

Canada took control of Pool B in the Women’s Football competition at the World University Games on Sunday as they scored the only goal in defeating Ireland in Fu Jen Catholic University Stadium.

The all-important goal came on 64 minutes when a loose back pass was picked up by Joelle Gosselin and the Canadian girl slid the ball under Amanda Budden in the Irish goal.

Ireland had begun brightly in the contest and went close on a couple of occasions with a stinging effort from Clare Kinsella from 30 yards scalding the hands of Canada keeper Sarah Dilling. Jetta Berrill tormented Canada with great runs and crosses down the right wing and one cross fell from the keeper’s clutches but Amber Barrett was unable to control her finish.

Canada who had fresher legs with it being their first game of the competition upped the tempo in the second half and hit the woodwork twice before their goal on 64 minutes.

Ireland gave everything to try and equalise bringing on Claire O’Riordan, Eleanor Ryan-Doyle and Rianna Jarrett in attack but Canada held firm till the end, with one chance for Jarrett being comfortably saved.

Only a Canada win over Mexico will give Ireland hope of qualification for the quarter finals of the competition, when the Canadians meet Mexico on Tuesday.

Ireland. Amanda Budden (Cork IT), Jetta Berrill (University College Dublin), Claire Walsh (University College Dublin), Shauna Fox (NUI Galway), Rebekah Carroll (Maynooth University), Chloe Mustaki (University College Dublin), Ciara McNamara (University College Cork), Aisling Frawley (Dublin City University), Niamh McLaughlin (Northumbria University), Clare Kinsella (IT Carlow), Amber Barrett (Maynooth University) subs Rianna Jarrett (IT Carlow) for McNamara, Claire O’Riordan (IT Carlow) for Frawley, Katie McCarthy (University College Cork) for McLaughlin, Eleanor Ryan-Doyle (IT Blanchardstown) for Kinsella.