Cup and League Double for University of Limerick

University of Limerick 55

University College Dublin 27

Anyone who was present in SETU Carlow on Wednesday March 20th, came away in awe of the skill and speed on display, as University of Limerick saw off University College Dublin to win the Student Sport Ireland / Irish Rugby Football Union Women’s Tier 1 Cup in a 13 try feast, and in doing so the Limerick sides collected the Cup and League double for the first time.

The winners got off to the perfect start and within minutes lead 7-0 as Mila Sopatarra touched down. However, UCD were fired up for this contest and hit back with two brilliantly worked team tries with Brooke Fagan and Eowyn Edwards crossing over.

The response from UL was emphatic however as Tara Holohan grabbed a try and Kate Flannery who was sprung from the bench kicked two conversions, the second one for a try she scored herself as UL moved 21-10 in front.

Cliodhna O’Sullivan outhalf for UCD, replied in earnest, with a try and a conversion, before a penalty in front of the posts from Kate Flannery left UL in the lead 24-17 at the break.

Eimear Keane was the first to score in the second half as her try increased the lead for the winners, before Cladagh Farrell scored for UCD. UCD were chasing hard, but also had to defend with all their might and eventually UL broke through for two killer tries in a row with Taragh Kirwin and Aoife Corey scoring to push UL 43-22 in front.

UCD did score one more try before the end but tries from Taragh Kirwin and Sadbh Finn Spellissy closed out and epic encounter and University of Limerick finished 28-point winners to collect the title.

University of Limerick – Emma Daly, Tara Holohan, Niamh Corless, Eva McCormack, Rhona O’Dea, Ella Morrison, Aoibhe O’Flynn, Eimear Keane, Abbie Salter Townshend, Abaigeal Connon, Nina Mathestein, Taragh Kirwin, Emily O’Regan, Mila Sopatarra, Aisling Stock, Beth Buttimer, Sarah Bradley, Sadhbh Finn Spellissy, Lauren Nolan, Lily Cunningham, Kate Flannery, Aoife Corey.

University College Dublin – Hannah Wilson, Aibidh Ni Mhaille, Aimee Breen, Evelyn Donnelly, Aedin Smyth, Hannah Johnston, Eadoin Murtagh, Clodagh Farrell, Hazel Kelly, Cliodhna O’Sullivan C, Brooke Fagan, Mya Alcorn, Jessica Sutton, Eowyn Edwards, Lucy Harte, Emily Glesson, Camille Trench, Julz Condron, Laura Newsome, Ally Cullivan, Niamh O’Farrell, Rebecca Stevenson