Andrew Hemeryck Crowned SSI Karting League Champion

Andrew Hemeryck (TU Dublin City Campus) Student Sport Ireland Karting League Champion 2018-19

With the team championship settled after round 3 of the Student Sport Ireland Karting league in favour of TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’, it was all about who would be crowned the SSI Individual Championship winner on Wednesday afternoon last in a rain sodden Kartworld Adventure Park in Watergrasshill Cork.
The title came down to a cross club battle between Conor Bradley and Andrew Hemeryck from TU Dublin City Campus. Bradley had taken an early lead in the championship claiming a full 26 points from the opening round in Nutts Corner last October, with Hemeryck and last year’s runner-up Oscar Mangan in second and third respectively. Mangan took the top place on the podium in Round 2 in Whiteriver and moved within 4 points of championship leader at that juncture in the championship, and at that point Hemeryck was eleven points behind.
A dramatic 3rd round in Whiteriver on their international circuit saw Bradley only pick up nine points on the day and as Andrew Hemeryck was first past the chequered flag he moved from third to first and held a four-point lead going into the final round in Kartworld.
In miserable conditions Eoin Flynn from TU Dublin City Campus took the victory on the day but a 3rd place finish for Andrew Hemeryck saw him capture the drivers’ championship in his final year of Student Sport Ireland Karting.
The team championship saw TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’ lead from round 1 all the way to round 4 and they finished with almost double the points of second place IT Carlow ‘A’, with Tu Dublin City Campus ‘B’ in third place overall

Student Sport Ireland Karting Individual Driver Championship
1st Andrew Hemeryck (TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’) 82 points
2nd Conor Bradley TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’) 75 points
3rd Eoin Flynn (TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’) 71 points
4th Oscar Mangan (TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’) 67 points
5th Jordan Gribbon (TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’) 56 points

Student Sport Ireland Karting Team Championship
1st TU Dublin City Campus ‘A’ 347 points
2nd IT Carlow ‘A’ 174 points
3rd TU Dublin City Campus ‘B’ 155 points