3 in a row for University College Cork

SSI/IRFU Men's Rugby Tier 2 Cup Champions 2024 - University College Cork

University College Cork 33

ATU Sligo 24

University College Cork collected their 3rd Student Sport Ireland / Irish Rugby Football Union Tier 2 Cup title in a row, as they saw off a strong challenge from Atlantic Technological University Sligo in SETU Carlow on Wednesday March 20th.

The Cork men were quick off the mark and had 14 points on the board inside eighteen minutes as Niall Smith and Paul Cotter, saw their tries converted by outhalf Adam O’Brien. A Niall O’Connor try, which was converted by Sean Gilvary, closed the lead back to 7 points after 28 minutes, but UCC would return to the dressing room leading 21-7 as Paul Cotter added his second try of the game.

First blood in the second half was to the men from Sligo as Louis McVitty crossed the line and with the conversion by Sean Gilvary the score stood at 21-14 after 52 minutes. UCC replacement Daniel Philpott crossed for his sides fourth try which was again converted by Adam O’Brien to restore a 14 point gap.

Niall O’Connor would grab two more tries from ATU Sligo before the end of the game but another replacement for University College Cork Ronan Bohane, sealed the game with a 77th minute try as the UCC Bulldogs claimed the title.

University College Cork – Paul O’Halloran, Callum Myers, Jack Appelbe, Ross Roche-Nagle, David Doyle, David Ogden, Joseph Dundon, Barry Scott, Niall Smith, Adam O’Brien, Nathan McAuliffe, Barend Jacobus, Paul Cotter, Michael Mulligan, Eoin Connolly, Daniel Philpott, Cashel Slevin, Jason Murphy, Ben McEnery, Daniel Andrews, Ronan Bohane, Cian O’Keefe, Max Scanlon.

ATU Sligo – Damien Cullen, Ciarán Jermyn (C), Eoghan Lang, Jamie Rowan, Evin Ballintine, Stephen O’Connor, Jack Oregan, Ben Hynes, Niall Oconnor, Ewan Douglas, Liam McCarthy, Ronan Grey, Louis Mcvitty, Olan Martin, Sean Gilvary, Oisin Lawley, Daniel Heneghan, Miguel Gonzalez, Sam Roddan, Alan Thornton, Donnachda O’Malley, Joe Owen, Lucas Thornton, Dylan Nevin, Adam Soden.