WUG15 Team Ireland


The 2015 World University Games will be held in Gwangju, South Korea from 3rd – 14th July 2015.

The Irish delegation to the Games is lead by Head of Delegation Cathy Gallagher (Trinity College, Dublin) and Assistant Head of Delegation Neasa Fahy O’Donnell (University of Limerick).

Please see below the Team Ireland delegation that will compete at the Games.

Key Links


Administration and Medical 

Role Name College/Organisation
Head of Delegation Cathy Gallagher Trinity College Dublin
Assistant Head of Delegation Neasa Fahy O’Donnell University of Limerick
Team Coordinator Ciarán Ó hIarnáin Student Sport Ireland
Team Doctor Dr. Garrett Leonard Point Walter Medical Centre
Head Physiotherapist Michelle Biggins ProActive Physio
Athletic Therapist Kathryn Fahy University of Limerick
Physiotherapist Johnny Loughrey JT Physiotherapy
Physiotherapist Lorcan McGee The Jerwood Centre, Birmingham
Soft Tissue Therapist Chris Moore Synergy Sports Performance
Team Photographer Cathal Noonan INPHO


 Team Officials

Sport Role Name Organisation
Archery Team Manager Martin Cunningham Archery Ireland
Athletics Team Manager Neil Martin Athletics Ireland
Golf Team Manager Gillian O’Leary Irish Ladies Golf Union
Judo Team Manager Ciaran Ward Irish Judo Association
Men’s Football Team Manager Danny Crowley Coláiste Íde
Assistant Coach Paul O’Reilly IT Carlow
Goalkeeping Coach / Video Analyst Gary Sweeney Reading FC
Equipment Officer Paul Walsh Griffith College Dublin
Swimming Team Manager Ruth McQuillan Swim Ulster
Head Coach Peter Banks Swim Ireland
Coach Paul Dennis Swim Ulster
Coach Lars Humer Swim Ireland
Women’s Football Team Manager Sue Ronan Football Association of Ireland
Assistant Coach Greg Yelverton University College Cork
Equipment Officer Mazzarello Sweeney Athlone IT
Goalkeeping Coach / Video Analyst Gerard Dunne Football Association of Ireland

Interactive Whiteboards by PolyVision


Student Athletes Selected

Sport Student Name Position / Event College/University
Archery Darren Wallace Recurve NUI Galway
John Smith Compound Dublin IT
Athletics Adam McMullan Long Jump Ulster University
Ciara Everard 800m University College Dublin
Kevin Batt 5000m Adams State University
John Travers 1500m & 10,000m Athlone IT
Thomas Barr 400mH University of Limerick
Golf Jessica Ross Queen’s University Belfast
Sarah Helly Marshall University
Sinéad Sexton Maynooth University
Alexander Gleeson University College Dublin
Sean Flanagan Maynooth University
Stuart Grehan Maynooth University
Judo Eoin Fleming -73kg Queen’s University Belfast
Men’s Football Matthew Connor Goalkeeper Waterford IT
Seamus Houghton Goalkeeper IT Carlow
Conor O’Keeffe Defender IT Carlow
Stephen Last Defender IT Carlow
Dylan Mernagh Defender University of Limerick
Jake Corrigan Defender Maynooth University
Peter Higgins Defender University of Limerick
Noel Haverty Defender IT Carlow
Reece McEnteer Defender Dundalk IT
Robert Gaul Defender Dublin City University
Garban Coughlan Midfielder University of Limerick
Alan McGreal Midfielder University College Dublin
Daniel McGuinness Midfielder IT Carlow
Brian Nolan Midfielder University of Limerick
Eric Molloy Midfielder IT Carlow
Jonathan Bonner Midfielder IT Carlow
Luke Kelly Midfielder Dublin City University
Alan O’Sullivan Forward Dublin City University
Dean Broaders Forward IT Carlow
Conor McDonald Forward Dundalk IT
 Swimming Alex Murphy Breaststroke University College Dublin
Christopher Bryan Open Water University of Limerick
Dan Sweeney Breaststroke Loughborough University
Fiona Doyle Breaststroke University of Calgary
Grainne Murphy Freestyle University of Limerick
Jordan Sloan Freestyle Ulster University
Nicholas Quinn Breaststroke University of Edinburgh
Shani Stallard IM University College Dublin
Shauna O’Brien Butterfly, Freestyle University College Dublin
Sycerika McMahon Breaststroke, IM, Free Texas A & M University
 Women’s Football Niamh Reid Burke Goalkeeper IT Blanchardstown
Eve Badana Goalkeeper Drexel University
Aisling Frawley Defender St. Pat’s, Drumcondra
Jessica Gleeson Defender Waterford IT
Ciara O’Connell Defender University College Cork
Kiera Cormican Defender University of Limerick
Rachel Doyle Defender Maynooth University
Jennifer Byrne Defender NUI Galway
Catherine Cronin Defender University College Dublin
Emma Hansberry Midfielder IT Sligo
Ciara Rossiter Midfielder Waterford IT
Ciara Grant Midfielder University College Dublin
Dora Gorman Midfielder University College Dublin
Rachel Graham Midfielder IT Carlow
Julie-Ann Russell Forward University College Dublin
Orlagh Nolan Forward University College Dublin
Claire O’Riordan Forward IT Carlow
Sarah Rowe Forward Dublin City University
Siobhán Killeen Forward University College Dublin
Rosanne Maguire Forward National College of Ireland



Sports Selection Criteria

Sport Selection Criteria Qualifying Period (Where Relevant)
Archery Archery Selection Criteria 31 May 2015
Athletics Athletics Selection Criteria 01 June 2015
Golf Golf Selection Criteria May 2015
Judo Judo Selection Criteria
Men’s Football Men’s Football Team Selection Criteria
Swimming Swimming Selection Criteria 04 May 2015
Women’s Football Women’s Football Team Selection Criteria