World University Games 2013

World University Games 2013

The 2013 World University Games were held in Kazan, Russia from the 6th – 17th July.

The Irish delegation to the Games was led by Head of Delegation Cathy Gallagher (Trinity College, Dublin) and Assistant Head of Delegation Neasa Fahy O’Donnell (University of Limerick).

Please see below Team Ireland delegation that traveled to the Games.

The final results, times and placing of participating athletes and teams can be viewed by following this link: 2013 World University Games Results.

Please follow this link to view posts and articles related to the games: 2013 World University Games Updates and this link to view 2013 World University Games Gallery.

Planning and preparations for the Games was coordinated by Student Sport Ireland 2013 World University Games Working Group.


Administration and Medical

Position Name College/Organisation
Head of Delegation Cathy Gallagher Trinity College Dublin
Assistant Head of Delegation Neasa Fahy O’Donnell University of Limerick
Delegation Official Ciarán Ó hIarnáin Student Sport Ireland
Team Doctor Dr Garrett Leonard Currently Team Doctor to Bohemians FC and FAI Medical Officer
Lead Physiotherapist Conor McCarthy IBBA Medical Team
Physiotherapist Michelle Biggins ProActive Physio (Galway)
Physiotherapist (Mens Football Team) Lorcan McGee The Jerwood Centre, Birmingham
Athletic Therapist (Women’s Football Team) Kathryn Fahy
Photographer Cathal Noonan Inpho

Team Officials

Sport Position Name College/Organisation
Air Rifle Team Manager Matt Fox National Target Shooting Association
Athletics Team Manager Peter Stafford European Athletics
Coach Colin Griffin
Gymnastics Head Coach Yuan Xiao University of Michigan
Men’s Football Team Manager Danny Crowley Colleges Football Association of Ireland
Assistant Coach Paul O’Reilly IT Carlow
Goalkeeping Coach/Video Analyst Gary Sweeney IT Carlow
Equipment Officer Paul Walsh Griffith College, Dublin
Rowing Coach Michael J Fleming Killorglin Rowing Club
Swimming Team Manager Ruth McQuillan Swim Ulster
Head Coach Peter Banks Swim Ireland
Coach Lars Humer
Women’s Football Head Coach Sue Ronan Football Association of Ireland
Assistant Coach Gerard Dunne Football Association of Ireland
Equipment Officer Maz Sweeney Football Association of Ireland
Goalkeeping C/Video Analyst Emma Martin Football Association of Ireland



Competition Name
Women’s Football Michelle O’Neill


Student Athletes

Sport Name College Event
Air Rifle Aisling Miller Trinity College Dublin 10m Air Rifle
Athletics Amy Foster University of Ulster 100m
Brian Gregan Dublin City University 400m
Ciara Everard University College Dublin 800m
Claire Tarplee Loughborough University 1500m
Jessie Barr University of the West of England 400m Hurdles
Laura Reynolds Dublin City University 20k Walk
Michelle Finn Western Kentucky University 3k Steeplechase
Niamh Whelan University of Limerick 200m
Tomás Cotter Wichita State University 3k Steeplechase
Gymnastics Rohan Sebastian University of Michigan
Men’s Football Andrew Mulligan IT Carlow
Barry O’Mahony IT Carlow
Brian Nolan Waterford IT
Carl Forsyth Sallynoggin College
Cillian Morrison University College Dublin
Correy Davidson Pearce College
Craig Sexton IT Carlow
Darren Forsyth Rathmines College
Dylan Mernagh Waterford IT
James Scallan IT Carlow
Jamie Carr IT Carlow
Jonathan Addis University of Ulster Jordanstown
Joshua O’Shea University College Cork
Niall Corbet University College Dublin
Paul Andrews George MasonUniversity
Paul Malone Dublin IT
Raymond Foy IT Carlow
Reece McAteer O’Fiach College
Thomas King Galway Mayo IT
Tristan Dent University College Dublin
Rowing Amy Bulman University College Dublin Women’s Lightweight Single Sculls
Monica Dukarska IT Tralee Women’s Single Sculls
Swimming Andrew Meegan University of Limerick Freestyle
Cristopher Bryan University of Limerick 10k Open Water
Women’s Football Aileen Gilroy IT Sligo
Catherine Cronin University College Dublin
Ciara Grant University College Dublin
Deirdre Doherty IT Sligo
Dora Gorman University College Dublin
Emma Hansberry IT Sligo
Eve Badana Drexel University
Geraldine McLaughlin IT Sligo
Jessica Gleeson Waterford IT
Jetta Berrill University College Dublin
Julie Ann Russell University of Limerick
Karen Duggan University of Limerick
Lauren Murphy University College Dublin
Roisin McCafferty IT Sligo
Sara Lawlor NUI Maynooth
Seana Cook Dublin IT
Shaunagh Jackson Athlone IT
Siobhan Killeen University College Dublin
Sophie Perry University of Brighton
Zoe Murphy University College Cork


Sports Selection Criteria

Sport Selection Criteria Qualifying Period (where relevant)
Athletics Athletes Selection Criteria 01 October 2012 – 16 June 2013
Judo Judo Selection Criteria Completed
Men’s Football Men’s Football Trials Completed
Swimming Swimming Selection Criteria Completed
Women’s Football Women’s Football Selection Criteria Completed


 Competition Information

 Sport Start Date End Date Fixtures Other Info
 Air Rifle  12th July 17th July Fixtures 
 Athletics  7th July 12th July Fixtures
 Gymnastics  7th July 10th July Fixtures
 Judo  7th July 11th July Fixtures  
 Men’s Football  5th July 16th July Fixtures Teams and Groups
 Rowing  6th July 8th July Fixtures
 Swimming  10th July 17th July Fixtures 
 Women’s Football  5th July 16th July Fixtures Teams and Groups


Selection of Athletes for the World University Games

  1. SSI is the sole sanctioning body responsible for identifying, selecting and organising Irish students athletes to participate at the WUGs;
  2. SSI works closely with the relevant NGBs, the Irish Sports Council, Sport Northern Ireland and FISU to achieve best results at the WUGs;
  3. Only once the Team Manager and the selection criteria are in place will SSI invite a sport’s national governing body to nominate student athletes to be considered by SSI to participate at the Games.
  4. Athletes being considered for selection are required to submit the following documentation and information to the SSI office:
  • A Student Athlete Nomination Form (signed and stamped by the student’s Sports Officer)
  • An Academic Eligibility Form (signed and stamped by the student’s Registrar’s Office. Forms not signed and stamped by the Registrar’s office will be returned to the student);
  • A Medical Form (to be uploaded at a later date);
  • A Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE) Form (to be forward via post to students)
  • Two passport photos;
  • A copy of the student’s passport page.

VISAS: Participants accredited by the Organising Committee in advance of the Games may enter and depart from Russia without visas within the period 25 June to 25 July 2013. Participants will be required to present their valid national passports along with accreditation certificates issued by the OC when crossing the Russian border.