2019 World University Games

2019 World University Games Women’s Soccer Pool C, Stadio San Mauro, Casoria, Napoli, Italy 2/7/2019 Ireland vs Brazil Ireland celebrate after the game ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

The 2019 World University Games is currently being held in the Italian city of Napoli from 3-14 July. The Games are the 30th Summer Universiade and will celebrate 60 years since the first Games were held in Turin, Italy in 1959. The programme includes 18 sports, 128 countries and approximately 9,300 student athletes and officials.

World University Games – Team Ireland Calendar and Results

World University Games 2019 Results

Selection Criteria

Selection Criteria will be posted here for each sport once it has been agreed with the relevant National Governing Bodies (NGBs).

Sport Selection Criteria Selection Period/Deadline
Archery Archery Selection Criteria 03 Feb 2108 – 28 April 2019
Athletics Athletics Selection Policy 01 January 2108 – 21 April 2019
Men’s Football Men’s Football Selection Criteria  
Taekwondo Taekwondo Selection Criteria  
Women’s Football Women’s Football Selection Criteria  


Team Ireland Delegation (11.06.2019)

Appointed Officials

 Sport Name  Title Organisation
Heads of Delegation Peter Stafford Head of Delegation Mitchell Stafford Management
  Niamh O’Callaghan Deputy Head of Delegation TU Dublin
Medical Team Dr Barbara Fair Team Doctor Queen’s University Health Centre
  Kathryn Fahy Physiotherapist  
  Johnny Loughrey Physiotherapist JT Physiotherapy
  Declan Monaghan Physiotherapist  
Media Tommy Dickson Photographer Inpho Photography
Archery Martin Cunningham Head Coach Archery Ireland
Athletics Neil Martin Team Manager Athletics Ireland
  Patricia Lawler Athletic Coach Athletics Ireland
  Peter Lyons Athletics Coach Athletics Ireland
  Shane McCormack Athletics Coach Athletics Ireland
Taekwondo Niamh Buffini Head Coach World Taekwondo Ireland
Football Greg Yelverton Men’s Football Head Coach Football Association of Ireland
  Luke Hardy Men’s Football Assistant Coach Football Association of Ireland
  David Bourke Men’s Football Goalkeeping Coach Football Association of Ireland
  Paul Walsh Men’s Football Equipment Officer Football Association of Ireland
  David Connell Women’s Football Head Coach Football Association of Ireland
  David Bell Women’s Football Assistant Coach Football Association of Ireland
  Keith O’Halloran Women’s Football Coach Football Association of Ireland
  Barbara Bermingham Women’s Football Equipment Officer Football Association of  Ireland
  Dylan Maguire Football Executive Football Association of Ireland


Selected Students

Interactive Whiteboards by PolyVision

 Sport Athletes Name  Event College
Daniel Foley Compound Men & Mixed TU Dublin
  Niamh Merry Compound Women & Mixed DCU
  Roisin Mooney Recurve NUI Galway
Athletics Alanna Lally 800 Metres UCD
  Cliodhna Manning 400 Metres IT Carlow
  Eric Favors Shot Put University of South Carolina
  Kate Veale 20km Walk Hibernia College
  Marcus Lawler 100 & 200 Metres IT Carlow
  Matthew Behan 110 Metre Hurdles DCU
  Phil Healy 100, 200 & 400 Metres Waterford IT
  Sarah Lavin 100 Metre Hurdles UCD
  Siofra Cleirigh Buttner 800 Metres Villanova University
Taekwondo Jack Woolley Minus (58kg) TU Dublin
Men’s Football Alan O’Sullivan   IT Carlow
  Anthony McAlavey   IT Carlow
  Cillian Duffy   Maynooth University
  David Coffey   UCC
  David Hurley   UCC
  Dean Denieffe-Kelly   IT Carlow
  Gavin Sheridan   UCD
  Jamie Hollywood   TU Dublin
  Joseph Manley   TU Dublin
  Maurice Nugent   NUI Galway
  Matt Hughes   Queens University Belfast
  Michael Scott   TU Dublin
  Robert Slevin   UCC
  Ronan Young   Queens University Belfast
  Sean McSweeney   UL
  Sean Quinn   TU Dublin
  Sean Trimble   DCU
  Shane Daly-Butz   UCC
  Simon Falvey   UCC
  Tristian Noack Hoffman   DCU
Women’s Football Ailbhe Clancy   DCU
  Aislinn Meaney   NUI Galway
  Amanda McQuillan   IT Carlow
  Chloe Mustaki   UCD
  Ciara McNamara   UCC
  Eleanor Ryan Doyle   TU Dublin
  Ellerose O’Flaherty   NUI Galway
  Gemma McGuinness   Ulster University
  Jessica Gargan   Quinnipiac University
  Lauren Dwyer   IT Carlow
  Lauren Kelly   Maynooth University
  Lauryn O’Callaghan   IT Carlow
  Lynn Craven   DCU
  Megan Smith Lynch   IT Carlow
  Naoisha McAloon   TU Dublin
  Niamh Farrelly   DCU
  Sadhbh Doyle   NUI Galway
  Shauna Fox   NUI Galway
  Zoe Green   Letterkenny IT
  Zoe McGlynn   Letterkenny IT