IT Tallaght Triumph in Men’s Rugby Division 3 League Final

April 8, 2016  |  News  |  Share


IT Tallaght 30
IT Carlow ‘C’ 12

IT Tallaght were crowned champions of the Student Sport Ireland & IRFU Men’s Rugby Division 3 league on Wednesday afternoon last when they defeated IT Carlow ‘C’ by eighteen points in a windy and showery Maynooth University.

In a game that began in complete sunshine it was IT Carlow ‘C’ who made the first break through as Martin Cole intercepted a pass inside the IT Tallaght half and the prop ran all the way to score under the posts with the conversion slotted over by Ross Hynes for a seven point lead.

As heavy showers moved across the pitch it was IT Tallaght backed by a strong wind who were brilliant from there until half time with several line breaks yielding plenty of metres and those metres resulted in IT Tallaght scoring four tries before the interval with Kevin Burke crossing the white wash twice and Mick Barton and Conor Spillane also touching down. Kevin Burke converted one of the four tries as IT Tallaght held a 22-7 half time advantage.

Spillane added a penalty under the posts shortly after the resumption. IT Carlow ‘C’ had long periods of pressure and after being camped on the IT Tallaght line midway through the second half they eventually made the pressure count when Will Thornton got in for a try to close the gap to 25-12.

IT Tallaght despite having three players sin binned during the game would not be beaten on the day however as Conor Spillane added his second try of the game to wrap up a 30-12 win for IT Tallaght.

IT Tallaght
John Gorman, James McHugh, Martin Murphy, Imar Hartnett, Hugh McKenna, Niall O’Sullivan, Cian Madden, Conor Doyle, Cian Dalton, Warren Doyle, Mark Ingram, Mick Barton, Conor Spillane, Flo Bonnet, Kevin Burke, Johnathan Bart, Loic Deugan, Darragh Gogan, Shannon Burell, Conor Weldon, Patrick Toth, Garry Hurley.

IT Carlow ‘C’
Martin Cole, Rory Hennessy, Sean Moran, Killian Doyle, Steve Walsh, Kyle Deasy, Neil Slater, Mark Nalty, Conor Rafferty, Ross Hynes, Cormac Hanlon, Paul Larrazet, Nico Kretschmer, Callum Finnegan, Olan Daly, Gearoid Dunbar, Will Thornton, Richie Nicolls, Jeff Stephenson, Darren Madden, Nicky Haberlin.

Referee Ronan Harris (Leinster)

Comments are closed.