Conway leads DCU ‘A’ to SSI Karting Title

March 4, 2016  |  News  |  Share

photo 2

Team glory for DCU, as Conway is crowned SSI Karting Champion

The final round of the Student Sport Ireland Karting League took place on Wednesday last in Pallas Karting in Co. Galway, where Sean Conway (DCU A) was crowned the individual winner and his team were also top of the podium for the team championships.

Sean Conway lead the championship from the start line in Nutts Corner, Antrim to the chequered flag in Pallas as he claimed two wins during the championship with victories in Nutts Corner and Kartworld in Watergrasshill. Sean Conway finished the championship with a total of 88 points, second in the individual championship was Ross Cullen (DCU A) on 67 points and in third place to complete a 1-2-3 for DCU A was Shane Patton on 64 points. Other drivers to claim victories during the championship were Michael Lafferty (IT Carlow) who was first across the line in White River in Louth, and the man to take the chequered flag in Pallas was Ryan Casey from Dublin IT.

The team championship saw DCU take the title from last year’s winners Dublin IT. DCU dominated from round one and led the championship the whole way eventually having 44 points to spare over DIT A with DIT B in third place.

Team Championship
1st Place Dublin City University 263 points
2nd Place Dublin IT ‘A’ 219 points
3rd Place Dublin IT ‘B’ 169 points

Individual Driver Championship
1st Place Sean Conway (DCU ‘A’) 88 points
2nd Place Ross Cullen (DCU ‘A’) 67 points
3rd Place Shane Patton (DCU ‘A’) 64 points
4th Place Andrew Flynn (DIT ‘A’) 58 points
5th Place Peter Campbell (DIT ‘A) 49 points
6th Place Adam Maguire (DIT ‘B’) 42 points
6th Place Cathal O’Donnell (UL ‘A’) 42 points
8th Place Ryan Casey (DIT ‘B’) 38 points
9th Place Jamie O’Rourke (CIT ‘A’) 35 points
10th Place Jack Aylward (DIT ‘A’) 34 points

Comments are closed.